Interfit EX300

jsy

Name
Alan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi, (My first post - please be gentle..:))

I have just purchased my very first bit of lighting, the interfit ex300 kit and wondered if anybody out there has the same who could give some pointers (I am a newbie to lighting outside of my 580ex world). I intend to setup a small studio in the corner of my large living room, primarily to take pics of my new baby, friends and other friends babies etc..

Please, please don't tell me I shouldn't have bought it.. I know many of you steer money grasping buyers in other directions, but I... well.. I am giving them a go.

Your question is really about studio lighting as I see it, not about a specific brand...

If you want general hints and tips take a look at the tutorials on the Lencarta website

There are also a few on my own website on the free downloads page.
And I sell complete tutorials + videos from that site too.

If you have specific questions, just ask.

we still use two ex150,s as additional background lighting in our studio.
bought initialy as light, cheap portable kit for home portraits, and theyre still going strong.five years later.
your 300.s should ber perfectly capable of home portrait work.
think about small softboxes, if you have the umbrella reflector kit.
get yourself a flash light metre , or experiment.
one disadvantage is that you have to use interfit ex specific fittings (softbox/snoot etc, as theyre not "s" fittings like most other peoples kit.
incidentaly we use interfit stellar 600's and 1000s in our sudio too.

Thank you all for the prompt replies, I shall certainly follow up on these links.
I need all the help I can get :)

Next on my list are reflectors & backgrounds - how big? which make? & as inaneredstripe mentioned, a flash meter, I have seen so much choice, which is good yet inexpensive? (I know I sound cheap, but as a new father my wallet is a little strained lol)