Is it worth an upgrade?

Which camera should I upgrade to, or should I wait?

• D750

Votes: 9 64.3%
  • D810

Votes: 4 28.6%
  • Wait 4 years for the D850

Votes: 1 7.1%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Name
Toni
Edit My Images
No
So I've been using a D610 since beginning 2016. It's been generally good: not too large or heavy, all the resolution I need, decent dynamic range, low noise, excellent battery life. Let me stress that I don't *need* to change the camera. However it's not perfect. The focussing system hunts in a dimly lit pub, the rear screen is fixed (what a crap idea that is for an enthusiast camera!) and occasionally I wish for a little less diffusion in the image when pixel peeping, possibly due to the anti-aliasing filter - noticeable with a couple of my lenses, though not all of them.

Those are things I'd like improved. The D750 fixes most of that and has great low-noise perfrmance, but still has an AA filter. The D810 fixes most of that and I like the idea of higher, crisper resolution for landscape work, but it has a fixed rear screen. I shoot mostly landscapes/architecture/people, don't do sports. I can afford to buy a used D750 or D810 outright now, but not really sure if it's worth it, or I should wait another 4 years until the D850 has dropped in price to the level that the D810 is now.

What do you think?

It's up to you how badly you WANT to upgrade!

If you have spare cash available now and don't think you'll be needing it in the next year or 2 then go for it. My choice would be (was!) the D750.

If you aren’t in a rush, rumour has it that Nikon has a Z5 on the way. What that will have is not known but it might be worth waiting for if mirrorless is the future and you don’t shoot sports/ action.

If you aren’t in a rush, rumour has it that Nikon has a Z5 on the way. What that will have is not known but it might be worth waiting for if mirrorless is the future and you don’t shoot sports/ action.