Beginner Is the Nikon D500 a good choice

Name
Jamie
Edit My Images
No
Hi all, I'm a novice when it comes to which camera to buy. I'm looking to buy a camera for wildlife images, especially owls. I was thinking of the Nikon D500, but would welcome any advice.
Also, is it best to buy from a UK stockist or online from a company that imports?

D500 has superb AF and speed, you may not need that for owls, in which case a D7200 would save you a lot of cash wherever you buy it from.

it is a stunning camera and would be perfectly fine for wildlife and birding when combined with good glass. There is probably a discussion about whether you really need something as high end as that camera if you are a complete novice but being honest if i had the cash to buy at the top end when i was starting out then i would probably do the same since you invariably end up buying twice when you find the limits of the cheaper option.

In terms of uk vs grey personally i am happy to buy grey as the savings can be significant however there is a lot of people on here who disagree with doing so on moral grounds. If you do buy grey stick with panamoz/hdew as they are very reputable with good warranties.

D7500 is another good camera if you want to spend a bit less.

D500 is a beast but as mentioned, you will need nice glass.

I love my D500 for wildlife. It's extremely fast and I've managed to capture some fantastic shots with it. One thing though - when it comes to moving the AF spot around the frame and selecting what to focus on - for long lenses you would need to go for quite a fast lens to get reliable autofocus. I've the Tamron 150-600 and I'm limited to the most central points for AF so I'm considering getting a Nikon 200-500 f5.6 or Nikon 300 f4 PF instead

Spend most of your budget on lenses instead. You will need it for birds in flight, not an easy type of photography. They are usually very skilled photographers and have wicked lenses from what I gather.