Beginner Is this Laptop OK for processing?

Name
Danny
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi

My current elderly laptop is starting to get sluggish; so I'm looking for a replacement.

I've just chanced upon this:

https://www.ebuyer.com/805723-hp-25...MIkai8x5q32QIVRBLTCh3GsQO_EAEYASAAEgL84fD_BwE

I'm a beginner in photography and have never processed any photo's; but at some point I'd like to. I wonder if this laptop is up to it?

I'm aware that built in screens are often not good enough, and if that was case here, I'd probably also consider getting a monitor to use with the laptop.

Other uses would be general internet surfing and e-mailing and a bit of word processing.

All thoughts appreciated.

Cheers.

For basic to intermediate processing e.g no excessive use of multiple layers then it will be more than adequate.

Good things to note are the HD screen and the speedy M.2 hard drive.

A couple of things to advise on -

Although its an i7 CPU its only a dual core CPU.
The 8gb of RAM is a single stick (not 2 x4gb) so you wouldnt get the benefit of dual channel memory. Worth checking to see if it has an extra slot to upgrade the RAM to 16gb in the future.

Compared to what you are presently using though this will probably be like night and day in comparison.

Last edited by a moderator:
For basic to intermediate processing e.g no excessive use of multiple layers then it will be more than adequate.

Good things to note are the HD screen and the speedy M.2 hard drive.

A couple of things to advise on -

Although its an i7 CPU its only a dual core CPU.
The 8gb of RAM is a single stick (not 2 x4gb) so you wouldnt get the benefit of dual channel memory. Worth checking to see if it has an extra slot to upgrade the RAM to 16gb in the future.

Compared to what you are presently using though this will probably be like night and day in comparison.

Thanks; appreciate your comments.