Its a Steep learning curve

Yv

TPer Emerita
Name
Yvonne, pronounced Eve...
Edit My Images
Yes
OK, managed to get the new lights out for first time today. Sadly lack of space is a problem here at home, so couldn't necessarily get the lights where I wanted them and the background was about 4ft wide, just draped over a clothes rail. All of these were two lights with either 2 soft boxes, 1 sb and a brolly, plus a reflector thrown in for good measure. I know you can see the background creases, but hard to get rid in a confined space, even with lights turned right down on power.

3263211125_bbf0578eb3_o.jpg

3264035666_919e53dee9_o.jpg

3263210835_4165dc51fa_o.jpg

so, questions, white balance? Slightly different on them all and not sure which is best?
Best way to smooth the background in limited space? Or should I be thinking of deliberately ruffling and gathering and using it as a feature? :shrug:
Should I just use one light perhaps?

Any other advice most welcome to this complete newbie :nuts:

Until you get some space sorted you could always have a crack at fixing the backdrop in Photoshop (if you have it).

BTW, I think her eyes in number 3 are stunning.

These are lovely Yvonne, agree about the eyes in #3. The creases don't detract too much to my untrained eye.

:LOL:

happy days. this takes me back to some good times..

try just doing head shots this will sort out the b/g for you. or try and keep the sheet taut.. then tweak in ps.

this is where i started and i had to learn how to get my shots better in ps .. now i try to do it in camera .."mind you i have space to keep the lights and b/g up all the time which i know helps....

md(y)

hope you dont mind :shrug:
yvonne_WEB.jpg

tweaked this .. moved that and the slider. oh and added this and took something else out...

hth..

(y)

ps this edit is a bit rough but you get the idea i'm sure..

md(y)

Last edited:
The colours do look a little desaturated, but I assumed that was deliberate. :shrug: