Jacking in digital for medium format film

Name
Nick
Edit My Images
No
I'm very seriously considering not bothering with digital anymore for serious photography and just getting a decent digital compact for messing about/snaps.
I'm only a hobbyist at the end of the day and find using film more rewarding, plus, the quality from 645 and above is frankly incredible.
Anyone else gone down this road? Recommend it?

Danny will be along very soon, as he very recently did something like this!

I have recently done this and have no regrets at all. I have moved to MF and LF work and find it so much more rewarding.

Mart

Well if an amateur or a hobby, it's all about doing something that you enjoy. For me I like taking photographs and cameras and lenses are just tools, and who knows if a 5DmkII was going for £50 I might use that :)
If I could find somewhere near that I could pop in to dev 120 negs for about £2.50 I'd use my MF gear a lot more and....... I used to do my own colour dev and printing for years, never really liked it and don't want to go back.

Last edited:
I have, over the last couple of years got and used a fair few medium format cameras and cetainly for the last 3 years shot 90% film on MF.

I love film and enjoy using it but sometimes digital does have it uses. I don't think I would ever go completly MF, 35mm or digital simply because each have there own advantages and disadvantages.

If I could find somewhere near that I could pop in to dev 120 negs for about £2.50 I'd use my MF gear a lot more and....... I used to do my own colour dev and printing for years, never really liked it and don't want to go back.

(assuming C-41 120)
If you shoot a lot, pile them up and then send them off to Genie Imaging I reckon that with postage between a lot of rolls it'll only come to about £3 a roll - a possibility?

Or perhaps Snaps Photo Services, which offer C-41 120 dev for £2.50? http://www.snapsphotoservices.com/page_2170585.html