Just booked tickets for Goodwood

Edit My Images
No
for the Friday (usually a much quieter day to visit). For anyone that hasn't been, Goodwood is an excellent day out for anyone interested in cars/motorsport and history.

Fingers crossed for good weather again this year :)

http://www.goodwood.co.uk/

Had great fun queuing to get in and out last year!

Yeah itoo went last year and it was awesome, couldn't believe the noise from the F1 car engines when they start up.

It's a great day, esp. as you get so close to some beautiful machines. Me and my dad were watching these two old fellas trying to start an old indy ring racer when we both started to get really itchy eyes, we only then realised it wasn't putting out smoke but unburnt ethanol! Heh heh heh, where else could that happen!

:D

complete newbe mode here....

I went to the goodwood site. I found a page with out of date 'event news' which was no help. If I click the tickets link there is a festival of speed for Friday 7th July - is that what you are talking about?

Yeah sorry, it's the Festival of Speed you want. There are vintage cars through to historic racers (Le Mans, rallies) through to F1 cars competing in the hill climb up past Goodwood house.

On the Friday if you buy a grandstand ticket it's a roving ticket so you can sit in any of the grandstands up the hill. Well at least that's been the case for the last 4 or 5 years I've gone. Sunday is absolutely heaving with crowds though - Saturday less so but we have found Friday to be the best day for both crowds and traffic.

One other thing to watch out for is the amount of time you queue to get in. Get up as early as possible (gates normally open at 6am) to avoid queuing for 1 or 2 hours!

Some of my photos from previous years are on my site here but apologies for the pics as they were mostly taken with P&S digicams.

Just looked through your pictures - they all seem to be static shots.

Is the hill climb thing just a minor part of the day then?