Just bought a Sigma Tele Conv. 2x for my 400D...

Name
Matt
Edit My Images
Yes
...but i think i need some kind of adapter for the standard 18-55 lens to fit onto it? Any suggestions?

I'm a newbie i know :razz:

Matt

Hmm, I'm not sure if this is right and other people would know for sure but I would guess that the sigma tele converter (canon fit) converts Sigma lenses. The kit lens is a Canon lens, so maybe you need a canon converter if it's for a canon lens?

I might be wrong.

Why buy a tele converter for the kit lens? You should have just replaced the kit lens if you are looking for an upgrade...and you should have checked to see if it was compatible with the Canon lens, after all, your mixing 2 brands together...

I don't know if it's compatible at all, someone else probably has a better idea. I woulden't have thought it would be since it's a Sigma converter.

How much did the converter cost you?

...but i think i need some kind of adapter for the standard 18-55 lens to fit onto it? Any suggestions?

I'm a newbie i know :razz:

Matt

Hi,

if it is a Sigma convertor for a Canon fit then no problem fitting it to Canon Lenses, however I don't think it's compatible with Canon EF-S lenses due to the way they are made ie: the rear internal element would bump up against the front element of the convertor.

It will be ok on Canon EF lenses.

Mike.

Hi,

if it is a Sigma convertor for a Canon fit then no problem fitting it to Canon Lenses, however I don't think it's compatible with Canon EF-S lenses due to the way they are made ie: the rear internal element would bump up against the front element of the convertor.

It will be ok on Canon EF lenses.

Mike.

That would be the problem then, need me a EF lens :bonk:

Cheers for that Mike and for the other replies also. :)

You'll probably find the elements of the convertor and lens will clash ( causing damage ) on any wide anlge lens.