Just bought Speedlight 430EX II - what should I get to go with it?

Name
Alistair
Edit My Images
Yes
OK, it was a bit of an impulse buy as I've not been taking enough pictures in these dark winter months. I've no experience of flash but am quite interested in experimenting with it.

So, I guess I need a diffuser - Stofen seem dear for a wee bit of white plastic, but are they in fact much better than the £1.99 Chinese types you can pick up? Or would I be better going for something that looks like an inflated plastic lightbulb? There seems a remarkable range of diffusers out there.

Also, at the risk of trying to run before I can walk, should I be getting it off the camera with a cord or even wireless. You can pick up cheap wireless triggers I see - do they work?, if so do they work more than one unit (told you I'm getting ahead of myself) or would I possibly regret trying to do it on the cheap?

Any advice gratefully received - I can feel the money burning a hole in my pocket as I type, but on the other hand I possibly shouldn't get too carried away here.

Alistair

I've got a cheap diffuser from ebay for £4 and it works fine.

I also have an ebay off-camera cord and cheap fm radio triggers.

That will get you started, I would suggest making some Blue Peter style snoots and a honeycomb grid from black drinking straws.

Just bought Speedlight 430EX II - what should I get to go with it?

Batteries:LOL:

The Chinese "stofens" are okay, but be aware of some really cheap ones that are not white. I dont mean the coloured ones you can get for them, but the white ones, some have a slight yellow tint.
Dean:)

Get a cord and have fun!

The cheap triggers are fine if you just want to have some fun around the house.

The stofen diffuser is fine, I tend to use the lightbulb type one for weddings but the stofen is just fine.

Have a little look at Damien Lovegrove's wedding tutorials for some quick off camera flash techniques.