Just got a studio space, outsource prints or buy own printer?

Name
Ben
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi

Just got my own studio, and I'm soon going to be offering baby/family/pet photography. Just doing a bit of research, is it worthwhile making the investment in a good printer - or is it best to outsource the printing and put the costings into my pricing?

Thanks

Im no expert in this field, but I think that at present, outsourcing is a very cost effective way to get brilliant results. I looked into getting a decent printer, but for the volumes I am *currently producing it is not cost effective at all. A lot of print labs will sort you a business deal out, so if you can establish a relationship with one, I would highly suggest you go down that route.

Once you get to the volumes of prints where you seem to be spending more time ordering, collecting, and posting your prints that it becomes a huge inconvenience then I would start to think about setting up your own printer.

Congrats on setting up your studio, its something i can only dream of at present.

Im no expert in this field, but I think that at present, outsourcing is a very cost effective way to get brilliant results. I looked into getting a decent printer, but for the volumes I am *currently producing it is not cost effective at all. A lot of print labs will sort you a business deal out, so if you can establish a relationship with one, I would highly suggest you go down that route.

Once you get to the volumes of prints where you seem to be spending more time ordering, collecting, and posting your prints that it becomes a huge inconvenience then I would start to think about setting up your own printer.

Congrats on setting up your studio, its something i can only dream of at present.
Thanks dude, very helpful - I'll contact some local companies.