Just one ND soft grad ... Which one?

• Thread starter Deleted member 41401
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 41401

Hi, I've been using a cheapo set of ND grads and am sick of the horrible purple cast that they impart, particularly on clouds/skies. I am now thinking about getting just one decent filter and have been looking at Hitechs and Lees. I have a Canon 7d and was reading that the camera is not great with infra reds(?) and that is a large part of the problem with some filter brands... Hitech was mentioned. I'm not 100% sure if this is the case and would like to hear from anyone that has a view/experience on this. Based on this, I am now leaning towards getting a Lee filter. Being a complete landscape novice, I have tended to mainly use my cheapo 3 stop grad for the sunset coastal shots that I've taken, and this has produced exposures not too far off. I have noticed that the effect of the 3 stopper is a little strong on clouds sometimes. Bearing this in mind, I'm wondering what you more experienced lanscape photographers would choose if you could only buy one grad. I am thinking that maybe the Lee 0.75 (2.5 stop) ND soft grad would be the most versatile and am leaning towards getting this.

I'd appreciate your thoughts please.

Cheers in advance.

ND6 / 3 Stop soft, by far the most useful on digital. I used to use an ND2 and an ND4 stacked to create a customisable two stage grad, worked a treat! They were Kood grads in Cokin P size. These days I'm using Fake Lee 0.9 and 0.3 soft grads, though it's still the 0.9 (3 stop) that gets the most use, It's rarely worth me getting the 1 stop one out.

Sorry to come in late on this but my Lee 0.6 (2 stop) hard grad is the filter I use the most. I have a good selection of Lee Filters and if I could only take one filter with me, it would be the 0.6.

The trouble with a 0.9 (3 stop) is, in some situations it will make the sky darker than the ground/water. Never a good natural look. It can also cause heavy vignetting.