Just shot my first film for a looong time

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello there,

I just wanted to say hello to members in this corner of TP world! I may be turning up here now and again.

I am pretty new to DSLR photography (about a year) and this year I started a C&G Level 2 Photography course at my local college. We have to do a couple of weeks of film - shooting and developing B&W - as a minimum. I suspect our tutor hopes we will get bitten by the bug and do more of our work on this medium as the year progresses...

Anyhow I bought an old Canon EO5S film camera for £50 off a member on here and managed to break it as soon as I got my hands on it :bang: (currently trying to repair like here).

So in the meantime I have borrowed an EOS500N with 35-80mm lens off a work colleague. I got given my film last night (Ilford FP4 ISO125) and loaded it up today after changing the battery in my camera. Shot a couple of shots at lunchtime. What a wierd feeling not being able to review and correct the shot if necessary. I guess this will get better and make me better plan my shots.

Anyway thanks for listening to my ramble. Hope to share a couple of 'all my own work' shots with you soon...

Mark F

Glad to hear you are on the road to proper photography ;)

There are a lot of people that would do well to drop their dSLRs and try out a film camera for a week or so, certainly makes you think more about composition and exposure, rather than shoot, check/delete and retry.

Hey, welcome to the film forum:wave:

I only started with film a few months ago and was bitten by the bug instantly. I also have a 500N and use it all the time - great little SLR.

Well I saw my negatives (briefly) tonight.

Transferred the film onto a spiral and then into a development cannister in the complete dark. Interesting - glad I could run through the drill in the light first with a piece of duff film.