kitchen lighting

• Thread starter Deleted member 11790
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 11790

Hi

i am a catering manager and sometimes need some food shots for cutomers or future reference.

my problem is the lighting in the kitchens which is flouresent and not that great. do try backgrounds etc. but the reflection on plates etc always seems to be an issue along with poor colours etc

do try and move things into better light etc but not always able to

any suggestions as dont want tp resign myself to doing alot of photoshop work when a tip or trick could help

:thinking:

I would be very interested to know the same! I'll be keeping an eye on this one for sure.

Off the top of my head I can think of two people that might be able to help. You've got lukewoodford who's recently done something similar and Edtog who sort of does this for a living, although I'm not sure if it's what he might call his speciality.

White balance is probably the main issue.

Also if you are using flash, sometimes the cameras flash meter gets confused by the reflected light and therefore underexposes the shot.

Try and experiment with evalutive & average metering systems with flash (if you have this option) and definately change the WB settings.

If you don't use flash buy some reflectors to bring in more light which will help you no end.

Hope this helps.

I'm not completely sure what you're asking here...