Landscape advice needed.. my siggy 10-20 doesn't like me :(

Name
Louise Knight
Edit My Images
No
Hello,

I've read a lot about this lens, people either seem to love it or hate it, and from reading past threads, there have been problems with it not being quite as sharp as one might hope.

Anyway, 3 weeks out of warranty, and I've decided I don't think mines upto scratch in the focus dpt.. I've been trying to take some shots of local scenery, I'm not an expert on landscape photography, but I always understood that to enable the shot to be focussed throughout the frame, you need to focus around 1/3rd of the way into the frame, with an aperture or between f/11 and f/16

here's my first test, straight out of camera.. whole shot then 100% crop. The rest that followed are all pretty much the same :(

These were taken using a tripod and shutter release, what am I doing so wrong?!!

fullimage.jpg

100crop.jpg

EXIF:
Camera Model Canon EOS 30D
Shooting Mode Manual Exposure
Tv( Shutter Speed ) 1/60
Av( Aperture Value ) 14.0
ISO Speed 100
Lens 10.0 - 20.0 mm
Focal Length 10.0 mm

I've read on here that there's sometimes problems at 10mm?

Or, maybe I'm just doing it wrong.. :shrug:

Any kind souls fancy offering some much needed landscape advice?

Lou

pixel peeping?
have you printed any off?

ignoring the 100% crop I did nt look at your posted photo and wince....

shoot raw and control the amount of sharpening yourself?

is the boat 1/3rd the distance in to the shot?

where did you focus? what is that distance rougly. Manual or auto focus used? Also did you use mirror lockup if appliable?

Dave

Pixel peeping.. had to do a quick search on that :D

I guess the only reason I'm mainly frustrated with this is that my main work is portrait work.. this was taken using the 17-85mm on my 30D, and you can see the difference in quality at 100%

carocrop.jpg

not the best example.. but you can definately see the difference in sharpness. no?!