Beginner Lens adapter to fit a Pentax K mount lens onto a Canon EOS 100D, I think.

Name
Peter
Edit My Images
No
Hi all

I'm a newbie with a Canon 100D and loving it.
Want to do a few night sky shots and bought a secondhand Sigma Zoom 18-200mm DC 062 lens online from Oxfam.
I had checked, in my newbie capacity, and some sites said DC meant Canon compatible.
However upon receiving it today and getting all excited, it's the wrong mount. Doh!

It has 5 small gold ball shape connectors as apposed to the seven squarer connectors on my Canon lenses.
It also says for SA/KPR on the protective cover.

Following a YouTube search I am led to believe this is a Pentax K mount (?) and a simple adapter ring will get me on my way.
Is this right and also, what about the electronic connectors.
I've seen one with a chip and connectors on one side but not the other.
What will I loose by not connecting the pins to the camera body?

Thanks
Pete

You can get an adaptor, but you’ll not end up with a compatible lens, just one that fits.

Sell it and buy a canon fit, cheaper in the long run as well as being better

Exactly what Phil said. That lens cannot work properly with that camera - if you bought online fairly recently then you may be able to return it.

DC means the lens is designed for digital cameras with a crop sensor like your canon.

FWIW that lens isn't going to do night sky pictures well. You need a wide angle lens with a large aperture - ideally f1.8 or wider (aperture numbers get smaller for a bigger aperture) unless you want star trails only.

Last edited:
Thanks guys.
Just bought it online for £50, so can easily return it as within 14 days.
Sounds like I need to start saving my pennies and doing more research before hitting "buy" next time.

Thanks.
Much appreciated for help and both the sites.
It is quite daunting for a newbie with so much gear out there and an alphabet of specs to wade through. :)