Beginner Lens for Jewellery

Edit My Images
No
Hi All,

I'm a beginner, and i have a D3300 i got this camera because of my business as a jeweler, saw i would like to ask what's the best lens to do jewelry shots? i saw that must be 1:1 ratio.

Thanks You

I'm a beginner, and i have a D3300 i got this camera because of my business as a jeweler, saw i would like to ask what's the best lens to do jewelry shots? i saw that must be 1:1 ratio.
More important than the lens is going to be the lighting I would think...

Reactions: Sid
thanks i have 18-55mm and close up filters, can i use them, and is there a way to know how many filters i need to put to achieve the 1:1 ratio?
If you use +10 diopter it should be (very close to) 1:1 at 50-55mm. But unless it is a more expensive multi element diopter (like Raynox DCR250) I wouldn't use it. It will not be as sharp and it will introduce image issues such as chromatic aberrations.
Much better is a set of extension tubes or lens reversal... lens reversal probably being the cheapest option even with buying a more suitable lens. The cheapest I would go is the DCR250...

Last edited:
Hi All,

Thanks You
What jewellery are you going to be photographing?
What is the intended purpose of the images?
1:1 means a subject 1cm wide will be 1cm on the sensor, your depth of field is going to be very shallow even stopping the lens down a lot (diffraction rears its head as well). Lighting will be a nightmare particularly as a beginner, shiny metal and precious stones are not the easiest of subjects to get looking good.

Macro lens is the best way to be honest.

Tubes will be ok but close up lenses are awful in my experience. In comparison anyway.

What jewellery are you going to be photographing?
What is the intended purpose of the images?