Lens for portraits

Name
Ged
Edit My Images
Yes
I feel I should start by saying I'm not a total beginner but I'm certainly no expert either.

Anyway, up to now, all my photography has been done on a Cannon 1000D and the kit lens that came with it. I like doing portrait photograhy and have enjojed a certain amount of success with that gear but I've thinking for a while about getting another lens. My first idea was to get a "nifty fifty" but I'm wondering now if there are any better alternatives.

What do people think?

Thanks, Phil. I did wonder about the 50mm being long enough. When using the 55mm kit lens I have to get quite close which often feels too close if you know what I mean.

My favourite focal length on a 35mm SLR for 'portraits' is 135mm. 85mm is about the closest equivalent on your crop camera. 85x 1.6 = 136

BTW if you've got the budget, the Sigma 85mm(s) are better lenses

For head and shoulders portraits, 85mm all day long on crop or full-frame.

Thanks for the replies. Sorry it's taken me a few days to get back on here. As we get near the end of term it gets more and more chaotic at work!

The 100mm macro is also a good "long" portrait lens, and not too expensive either.

It's a dual purpose lens really.

The 100mm macro is also a good "long" portrait lens, and not too expensive either.

It's a dual purpose lens really.

Yes, I've toyed with the idea of getting a macro lens because I also occassionally photograph, well, ...small things. However, with a crop sensor that would make 100mm 160mm. Would that be too long for portraits?

Yes, I've toyed with the idea of getting a macro lens because I also occassionally photograph, well, ...small things. However, with a crop sensor that would make 100mm 160mm. Would that be too long for portraits?
Not really, maybe a bit longer than I'd use as a 'go to' but certainly usable.

85 1.8