Lens help for sports!

Edit My Images
Yes
Hello all, I am a newbie and so greets to all.

I have a 400D which I have been getting to grips with - and loving it.

I am going to Silverstone for the first time this year and want to get some pictures. I have a 3 day pass so plan on getting most action Friday/Saturday. I'm also off to the MotoGP again and want to take some snaps then. I went last year and used my EF 90-300 lens which allowed to get a few good shots, but most were binned.

I am after a new lens and would really appreciate advice and input.

Along with the motor-sports I would like to carry on with general photography and landscapes (I love landscapes). I have the lovely EF 50mm 1.8 an EFS 18-55 and an EF 35-80. Other equipment is a mono-pod and a Manfrotto tripod. Ideally the new lens I get would replace the 90-300mm.

My thinking has been around the following:

1) The Canon EF 70-200 f2.8 IS USM lens. My thinking here would be to use this generally and add a 2x extender for sports?
2) The Canon EF 100-400 f4.5-5.6 IS USM lens.
3) Sigma 150-500MM APO OS DG f5-6.3 USM lens.

I would probably bolster the weight of the canon body by using the battery grip.

Can anyone shed any light on what they think of the above or if they recommend anything different?

Really appreciate help and advice.

Chris

Hello and welcome...I have both the 2x and the 70-200IS F2.8 and I have found the IQ is poor when these 2 are used together. I shot indoor basketball and the 70-200 is a fantasic lens for this. Hope this helps.

The only decent lens you have listed for sports IMHO is the 70-200 f2.8 but then you want to add a x2 extender making it a f5.6

Sports generally needs a fast lens. Motorsport maybe different though? :)

the 70-200 and convertor option would probably be the most versatile. The 100-400 is great though, some shots here with it.

Hi all, thanks for the posts. dod - they are some great shots!