Lens size/spec advice

Name
David Wheat
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi -- I'm a musician, and I want to shoot performance videos indoors without setting up lights. So I'm planning on getting a used Sony a7S II camera for it's reported low light capability.

Typically, I like to get my acoustic guitar completely in the frame, and it's just over a metre in length (horizontal). To keep my set-up as compact and simple as possible, I'll be recording the audio from a mic mounted on the camera. So for best audio quality I don't want to be much more than a metre away from the camera/mic. I'd be very grateful if someone could advise me on what a size/spec lens I would need for this.

Hi and welcome to TP.
But as this is the internet, here’s the first response that doesn’t answer your question.

Light is the ‘raw ingredient’ of photography, and if you’re going to all the trouble of setting up a camera and a mic; you’ll soon realise that the other important consideration is the light falling on the instrument. It’s not just about ‘enough’ light, it needs to be the ‘right’ light.

I can’t help w the lens, cos I don’t know anything about that camera, but without doing the maths, my gut says about 16-20mm in FF terms.

I'd agree with Phil here. If you're gonna be placing the camera that close, you're going to need something pretty wide focal length wise as he says.

Alternatively you could place a wireless mic set up in the best spot acoustically to give you some more freedom with camera placement and allow you some more choices that sit under suitable lens selections.

I've also recorded a feed direct from the mixing desk and combined in post production.

A lot of the gigs I've shot I've used a 35mm 1.2 because the light gathering capabilities are super important in many venues.

I would also take into account the possible need for additional light. Some venues have wonderful, pro level lighting rigs but many don't. Better to be able to have a little bit of control over that yourself.