Light trails

Edit My Images
Yes
:wave:......complete newbie here

Been lurking a cpl of months and last Friday took the plunge and bought my first DLSR, a D3100 18-55mm lens kit.

TBH its made me a bit :nuts: over the last few days, just trying to learn the basics :bonk:

Anyway......I have always liked the look of light trails and after reading the tutorial by MWHCVT (y), thought I'd have a go

Living only 10 minuets from Scammonden Bridge, it seemed the obvious place to start

Here's one I took last night

Here's another I took this evening looking towards the bridge

Personally, for first attempts, I am happy enough, but did think they both look a little oof......so any advice and :help: greatly accepted :)

Cheers, Phil

Last edited:
sorry.....double post

Thanks Dave .......but was thinking a little more along the lines of improving the actual technique :D

Phil, are you using a remote shutter release and perhaps the mirror lock-up function? (or Nikon's equivalent )

Your shot, especially the 2nd looks a little blurry to me, if they were sharper i think it would improve them a lot. but love the composition on the first one :)

Thanks Dave .......but was thinking a little more along the lines of improving the actual technique :D

OK think you should use manual focus, because when you press your cable release it may try to refocus and miss, or use AF and then switch it to manual before taking the shot

Simon, I like that......your light trails are a lot sharper than mine

I've thought and better thought........but I'm struggling to come up with anywhere round me that's busy and doesn't have street lighting :(

There's plenty of roads without lighting.......just not enough traffic :shake:

Think tomorrow I'm going to treat myself to a remote shutter release so I can get a longer shutter time than 30 seconds.......and travel further a field (y)

Last edited: