Lighting diagrams for complete beginners?

Edit My Images
Yes
I haven't used OCF before but may need to for an event (night run) soon. I intend to find a location outside at night in advance and do some trial and error with the set up so i know roughly what my starting point is on the evening. Initial thoughts (based on photos of similar events i've seen) are 2 bare flash on stands. One from the front at about 30-45 degrees to the runner, camera 30-45 degrees on opposite side of path and second flash somewhere behind to give a backilight/ rim light? I will have the flashes set off the path.

I have found a few diagrams for portrait shoots which are basically what i will be doing, but are there any go-to (starting) ratios for front and rear flash. I was thinking of having the ISO at 1600?. I have been to the location before and if possible would like to have some of the background feature illuminated. I will also be shooting quite a few runners so any advice to extend the battery life and keep the recycle time down would be good.

Apologies for the complete beginner question. Below is an image from the same location during a day race recently. This is where i hope to camp out next time. This was shot on a Canon crop at somewhere between 24-35mm (38-56mm FF). Happy to go closer/ change orientation etc for whatever would work best.

TTM.jpg

All advice gratefully received.