LightRoom Update !

Name
T
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi Guys,

I have a non cloud subscription version of Lightroom vr 8.1 and on opening the programme a window pops up stating there is an update available, click Yes / no.
Problem is Lightroom can not update because I do not have a cloud a/c and even if I did adobe would want me to purchase LR subscription version.

Is there any way I can update my Lightroom without buying a new version ! ?

Many thanks

T

Below is from the main menu, Help tab along the top of the screen

View attachment 298398

Doh! I missed the ref to non cloud subscription version ~ with emphasis on the missed word subscription!!!!

Having said that, it was my understanding when they introduced the LR Classic CC version.....even though your images were not in the CC cloud, you still needed an Adobe CC account for the registration - verification process. But once you cease to pay the subscription, you are left with reduced functionality i.e. catalogue and library functions are OK but all post processing (Develop) functions are lost.

Based purely on my understanding, did you stop your subscription and hence was that the reason LR would not update?

Sounds like you once had a Lightroom CC subscription (or maybe used the free trial) but stopped it. This link below says what happens once you stop the subscription:

It seems you can carry on using lightroom to upload photos but can’t use the develop module to edit them (quick develop still supposedly works).

If you want the latest update you have to subscribe. I guess the pop up is Adobe way of asking you to subscribe (again) to get you to return.

is there any file that I can copy or down load to on to a LR folder my pc to update the database.
As I suspect as new cameras are released LR will not recognise the RAW files ie R5 & R6 ! ?
Not as far as I know.

LR v6.14 will not recognise raw files from cameras released later than about 2017.