Looking for a second hand compact camera - any suggestions? Canon G12?

Name
Mark
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I am a total beginner to 'proper' photography and I have always relied on a automatic compact camera in the past.

As I want to move things forward I am going to need a camera that I can set up manually, perhaps then moving onto a DSLR if things go well.

I don't want to spend much, £100-150 ideally, so have been looking at Canon G12's on eBay. They seem to have good reviews and have all the features I anticipate I would need.

It is worth noting that I am probably going to be doing mostly still life or product photography in a 'studio' (home made) environment.

Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks

You might consider a Fuji X10. You can pick up a used one for that sort of money. Lovely little retro style camera. Very solid magnesium alloy build and has a comprehensive range of manual controls, a decent lens and will shoot RAW. It has a hot-shoe for a flash and I can thoroughly recommend it.

I have the G12. Love it. Did it help with me learning about photography? Yes. But whilst I love it, I am regularly up against its limitations these days. I've migrated onwards to dslr. I take the G12 abroad and in areas where a pocket camera is more subtle. My main "hate" is its low light performance but I love everything else. I bought an adaptor that allows me to add a circular polarising filter, and the 270EXII flash complements it's beautifully. Also bought a wrist strap rather than use a neck strap.

I would love to sell it and replace it with the G1X/G16 but neither have the fully articulating screen. I also love being able to change ISO and ev with the top dial, which leaves the front dial and rear dial for shutter speed and aperture control.

How about an old GF1 and some old Canon FD lenses. It's a great way to learn photography and will be cheaper than the cost you quoted above

Hi

I had a G12 you mention manual setup and indoor use