Low Light Indoor Portrait, Wide Angle Focus

Name
Jess
Edit My Images
No
Hello! Newbie here in asking for advice!

I will be shooting some portaits in low light in a few weeks time, this will be indoors. I have a Nikon D3200 with 1. 20mm 1.8 & 2. 50mm 1.8.
Obviouslly having a wider aperature will give me more light, but as a few shots are wide angle, I need all details to be in focus.
I've tried upping the ISO but as predicted, the grain is strong and even in post processing won't leave me with a crisp image.
How can I get around this please?
The model will be still so shutter speed i've got set at 1/40 (and tripid being used) should this be upped to 1/250?

Current Settings tried in low light this morning;
Shutter: 1/40
Aperature: 1.8
ISO: 400

I guess i'm still figuring this all out with aperature, shutter speed and ISO.
On the camera, photos still appear not crisp and sharp when I zoom in (grain and slight noise even on low ISO), which isnt the desired effect. I'm thinking of adding a softbox to some scenes, just to ensure the sharpness and high quality. A bunch of the end goal for the photos is for an atmospheric "moody" "dark" effect on everything but the subject which I'm confident in getting in post processing anyway.

I've rambled on...
Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks!

Use studio strobes is my advice.

It's all about the lighting.

To get "everything in focus" you'll need to stop down and without extra lighting you'll be upping the ISO to get a decent shutter speed.

"You canna change the laws of physics"

You have run into one of the 'problems' in photography - you have conflicting requirements.
Setting the aperture wide open to f/1.8 gives the most light - but it also minimises the depth of field - so you get just a small portion of the image sharply in focus.