Name
Claire Grindley
Edit My Images
Yes
I'm just starting out in portrait photography, most young children, family, dancer headshots and outdoor posed. My camera body isn't the best out there but I don't want to spend unnecessarily. Does anybody know what lenses would be best for each of the photography shoots I've listed? I currently have a standard 14-45mm which is ok for headshots and portraits, but I know possibly a 42.5mm may help me create a softer background? Also when I do full body I lose the clarity slightly. Also, I know (I think) the Lumix G1 lenses are different to other in terms of mm. My head is a bit battered if i'm honest and it's really holding me back :( I went into the local camera shop and the guy was so helpful but it was information overload - any help or info would be hugely appreciated!! Thanks in advance :D

Hi, first of all Lumix lenses are only 'different to other in terms of mm ' in relation to other camera formats, therefore a 42.5mm lens on your camera will have exactly the same view as if you set 42,5mm on your current lens (14-45). To have a more blurred background you need a lens with a wider aperture (f stop), the smaller the number the wider the aperture, therefore f2.8 is wider than f8. The picture has to be taken with this wide aperture to get the blurred effect also, it's no good just having a lens with a wide aperture (hope that makes sense) If the lens you are considering is the Olympus 42.5 f1.8 then this is a good lens for the style of photography you seem to do, that's just my opinion of course.

Last edited:
Hi Claire
I would go for the Lumix 42.5/1.7, nice lens for a relatively reasonable price
Also has stabilisation which will help with camera shake, something your camera and the Olympus mentioned above doesn't have.
If required you can use a smaller f number (try f/1.8) than the zoom which should give you the desired effect