MAC Permissions problem with adobe bridge.

  • Thread starter Thread starter whiteflyer
  • Start date Start date
W

whiteflyer

Guest
I have my photos on an external drive connected to my mac, when using adobe bridge if it try to delete an image I get a message say that I don't have permission.

Thanks
Mark
 
What format is the external drive?
 
The drive is MAC OS Extended (Journaled)

A 1TB FW800 drive
 
Are you able to delete an image directly from Finder? And have you checked permissions on the photo folder to see if your user name is still on it to read and write?
 
Mark,

Click on the external drive and click on the relevant folder (or the drive if using the whole thing).
Hold down [CMD] and press to bring up the 'info' box.
Go to the bottom of the info box and find 'Sharing & Permissions:'.
Expand Sharing & Permissions....

mark1.png


Here you can see that this folder's permission is set so that only admin has read & write access.

To change this click on the padlock (bottom right) and enter your password

Click the '+' and add YOU and give yourself read & write access.

If this does not fix the problem let me know.
 
Mark,

Click on the external drive and click on the relevant folder (or the drive if using the whole thing).
Hold down [CMD] and press to bring up the 'info' box.
Go to the bottom of the info box and find 'Sharing & Permissions:'.
Expand Sharing & Permissions....

mark1.png


Here you can see that this folder's permission is set so that only admin has read & write access.

To change this click on the padlock (bottom right) and enter your password

Click the '+' and add YOU and give yourself read & write access.

If this does not fix the problem let me know.




'swat I meant. :D
 
This how I have it set, and still not working in Bridge, but I can do everything in finder ?



Screenshot2009-12-09at214939.png
 
Sorted it out (I think)

I deleted the staff user as I had no idea what that was for and it's not on my Macintosh HD , I then changed the permission if the get info list from the drive just as you clever people said, but I then hit "Apply to all Enclosed" and hurray it works :)

Screenshot2009-12-10at020743.png




Now another osx question

I did add sharing with my old pc to copy some files across and the pc was a medion. I have since ended sharing ( I think) but when I open the terminal from the utility's folder the open lines are

Last login: Thu Dec 10 00:37:21 on ttys000
medion:~ gigfan$


I just expected it be more like
Macintosh:~gigfan



OH yea I did cock up the home folder/username when setting up the mac as I put in my apple id email address and not a more sensible name like home or mark or admin , but now know I would have to reinstall to change it.
 
Back
Top