Macro sruggle....Help!

Edit My Images
No
This is my first try at macro, and i really need some tips. I find my results very poor, and i do not know why the images came out so poor, no matter what I tried.

First off, the equipment used was:

Panasonic G2 with the 45-200mm OIS lens
Raynox 250 was used with the lens at FULL zoom.
Manfrotto 190XPROB tripod
Manfrotto 494RC2 Mini Ball Head
Remote shutter release
Nissen Di466 flash

I understand I wasn't using a dedicated macro lens, but I have seen online MUCH better results with the Raynox 250+Zoom lenses?

My test subject was a tiny spider I spotted in my balcony, weaving its net in one of the balcony chairs arms....he hasnt moved for about a week...:D

Problems I faced:

On sunny days, I felt too much glare and focus wasn't easy.

When I used flash, I couldn't get the exposure right.

The Raynox has an INFINITESIMALLY TINY DOF!!!! Almost impossible to get the whole spider in focus!!

Used remote shutter, and turned OIS OFF on lens.

When using the Manfrotto's top column in horizontal position, I felt the tripod was going to tip over? How can this be overcome?

I just bought the tripod and head. I am happy with the first, but very unhappy with the head?! I read people using it on proper DSLRs with zoom lenses, but I felt it struggled with my low weight basic setup?! I am thinking of returning it, and getting the 460MG. Will it be any better? Or the 496RC2?

Lots of questions, and need some advice...many thanks..

Here is the setup:

IMG_1451.jpg

The elusive spider:

P1040221.jpg

P1040232.jpg

P1040273.jpg

P1040275.jpg

The DOF is tiny at that focal length and distance from the subject. It's not just a Raynox thing, it's a macro thing in general.