Migrating workflow to lightroom

Name
Adam
Edit My Images
No
Hi,

I've been using Google Picasa for many years for my photo management and jumping into Photoshop elements when i want to make edits Picasa cant handle. Picasa hasn't been supported by google for a while and is feeling dated so i bought the Adobe CC Photography package for a year today on an amazon deal.

My current workflow is:
- Copy all my images to my laptop SSD
- In Picasa use the "star" feature to soft cull my which images i want to keep
- Backup the starred image to Flickr via a Picasa export
- Further edit some i want to and save as additional files in PS Elements
- Backup to 2 External hard drives
- Format the SD Card in camera when i next want to use it

When my laptop gets low on space i delete photos oldest first to free up space. My 2 External hard drives have the same file structure but i never delete from them so have 250gb of images from 2004 onwards.

What i like about Picasa is that the selection of "Starred" photos and any edits are stored as "picasa" files in the same directory as the images so if i lose the picasa library file or restructure picasa will scan the directory structure i point it to and re-figure it all out again.

Does anyone have any recommendations on how an can preserve a similar workflow with Lightroom Classic? or recommendations on a better way to do things?

Interested in this myself, simply to see other people's workflow as I'm starting to evolve my own. Currently (Nikon user):
- use ViewNXi (on the iMac) to import all images to an "Originals" folder then cull the rubbish from it with the same app
- use either Elements 2015 or Affinity to review and pick the ones to edit
- edit using Elements and if necessary Affinity
- save resulting Best quality jpg's to a "Final Versions" folder and upload to Flickr

(Backups are daily using Time Capsule to a remote 4Tb disk and Final Versions to DropBox)