Missed opportunities

Name
Dave
Edit My Images
Yes
Just been out for a nice walk with the other half and our dog. I am very new to this photography lark and spent most of the walk missing shots on various wildlife from insects to birds.

Walking back to the car I noticed some young rabbits out in a field and managed to get myself leant on a wooden gate to try and get some photos. I spent about 5 minutes waiting for their heads to pop up and even kept clicking my tounge and squeaking to try and get a reaction from the rabbits. I didn't look up from the viewfinder once.

When I finally did look up there was a Robin sat on the gate post about 10 foot away from me. I managed to just get it into focus as it flew away. Didn't even get a shot off.

My wife then told me that the Robin had landed about a minute before I saw it and had been trying to figure out what I was up to - it kept chirping at me and fluffing its feathers up (it had just been bathing in a puddle from my brief glimpse of it). I think it got fed up of waiting for its photo taking and went home :)

I managed to get pictures of rabbits ears and a lot of grass. I need to remember to look up now and again and see what is happening around me :)

I moaned at my wife all the way home about missing the opportunity and that got me thinking that other photographers must have had the same happen to them, but probably with much more interesting subjects than my humble Robin.

Dave.

Yes,was busy with green finches in a tree and on turning round i saw a fox vanishing into the undergrowth,flipping heck i said ;) to my wife missed that, her reply was its been sitting there all the time you where watching the birds.