Monitor Calibration

Name
Lee
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I'm in need of some advice as to which monitor calibrator i should buy.

I've been looking at the (Spyder 3 Elite) and the (X-Rite Eye-One).

Has anybody got any experience with any of these and how well do they work.

Thanks.

I purchased the spyder 3 pro from amazon for around £85 or £89.

Worked well on my monitor screen as I was having all sorts of issues.

I've heard people say the Eye-one is a little better but I've no experience with the brand!

If you become a regular you wont need to buy one, as there are two doing the rounds here on TP going around the country on a borrow scheme, just put your name forward after you have reached the criteria to use it, or upgrade to win7 on the 22nd of this month as it has a calibration tool built in(y)

I have the eye one and it is brilliant. If you are serious about your photography it is a good investment. You should do it once a month to keep your screen properly calibrated.

Not too sure about Windows 7 but I doubt it will be anything like the quality you need. I would imagine it will be the same as all the other built in ones, about as good as useless in the real world.

I have the i-One and it works fine, but I suspect the Spyder 3 will be perfectly satisfactory.
Either should do the trick for you.

If you are planning to go to W7 or Mac Snow Leopard male sure drivers will be available for which ever platform you are going to be using

I have the i-One too, I purchased it for the day job, I have been very satisfied with it.

Kelvin

I have the spyder express which does an adequate job.
The dearer calibrators do a better job and give you more functionality.
Its down to what you can afford.
The first thing you will notice is that monitors are cold by default, eg very blue. the calibrator will warm up your screen and at first will most likely look very pink.