MotoGP - Silverstone 2021

Name
Ryan
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys,

First post in a few years due to not being able to get to motorsport events - something do with a virus going around. Last event I posted was WEC at Silverstone in 2019.

As I have said before, I class myself as a complete novice when it comes to photography, it's something I'm keen to learn more about and over the summer of this year I have learned a lot from YouTube videos and articles online - however I still want to learn more. These pictures probably aren't the best, but I think they're a very slight improvement from 2019 (here is the thread link for comparison: https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/threads/wec-at-silverstone-2019.700796/#post-8512824). My camera is a Canon 1300D and the 70-300mm f/4-5.6 lens. I do want to upgrade to the Sigma 150-600mm as I have heard good things about it.

Please, any feedback you can give me with regards to camera settings, shutter speeds etc would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_4734
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

IMG_5067
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

IMG_5330
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

IMG_5487
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

IMG_5494
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

IMG_5642
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

IMG_5228
by Ryan Smith, on Flickr

I like them but for me they seem a little on the dark side almost like they need a boost with the levels slider in post, they are sharp but why not try using shutter priority, TV on Canon, and set your shutter speed to 1/200 and see how that goes. Also try a different corner to get some more head on or from the other side of the bike (saying that I am not familiar with Silverstone).
For me the first one is the pick :)

My advice; go to the club meetings at the smaller circuits and practice your craft there. You will be able to get a lot closer to the track, there is a limited amount of fencing, and the crowds are a lot smaller as well, so it makes moving around a lot easier.