Mountain Biker

Edit My Images
No
Just wanted to get people's opinions on this photo I took at a recent bike race at Kielder. It's one of my favourites from the day.

Cheers :)

bike74.jpg

I like the framing / composition, the detail of the mud shows and gritty look on the riders face.

It's a little soft though. Have you sharpened the image at all?

Hi Freester. It only had Aperture's default amount of sharpening. i've added a bit more here, but any more and it's starting to look over done. Much of the softness is movement blur, but I was happy with the face, which I thought was the most important bit. It's just I don't like static looking action shots, so go for slightly slower shutter. Am I causing myself problems before I even start? Should I speed up the shutter?

bike742.jpg

Right I hear what you are saying. Personally I prefer the 2nd. The face seems more in focus.

I'm no expert at this type of shot. I'm sure there will be someone else along in a minute advising on the best way to get some decent motion blur into the picture. Personlly I would probably try upping the shutter speed and panning a bit more.

The 2nd is defo better. Will keep it that way. But there was plenty of panning going on there unfortunately. :thinking:

it's very difficult to get decent mtb shots, the bumpy nature of the ground the bike is traveling over and the motion of the rider conspire to move just about everything your trying to focus on.

If you get the shutter speed fast enough to deal with that, you lose the movement of the wheels, go slower to get the spoke blur and pretty much everything is OOF

As for the photo, I like it :)
would have been nice to get the top of his lid in the frame, and maybe the front brake rotor.

Thanks digitalfailure. I've often wondered about the helmet, but feel it may lose its impact if the shot was any wider.

I've got another race coming up in 2 weeks, so will experiment with shutter speed a bit more.

Cheers.