Beginner Mountain biking photography

Name
Clare
Edit My Images
Yes
My other half is a pretty keen mountain biker. I'd love to get some decent shots of him out biking. I am a complete beginner! I have a Nikon D3400 with a 15-55mm lens. I know I need to increase the shutter speed (maybe to at least 1/1000?) Does anyone have any tips on how to get some decent photographs?

i think the lens should read 18-55mm :LOL::LOL:
try you tube for some vids of action photography then jus go and try it youself

Last edited:
AF-C mode and 1/1000 is fine. You can start to push the boundaries when getting more confident to 1/500 and slower to get the movement effect.

I would consider a longer lens too. 18-55 is quite close for MTB action shots, but that might be where you want to be. Go get some shots and then post here for feedback!

Thank you! I will give it a go. What lens would you recommend? I'm just starting out and that is currently the only lens I have. I'm looking at getting another soon but not too sure which I'd like to get yet.

The DX 70-300 is meant to be excellent on a budget.

Set the shots up first, get him to pose in the right position on the trail, pick somewhere with the sunlight you want, get your composition, exposure depth of field right then get him to ride backwards and forwards through the shot until you get the sort of thing you are looking for.

Standing upright with the camera at normal eye level will not normally give you and interesting shot, try shooting from a low point or a high point etc.

Normally a lower shutter speed is good what you are normally trying to do is get some motion blur on the wheels and background to produce a sense of motion but keep the rider sharp. To do that you need to focus on the rider and then pan with them. If you use a single focus point and say focus on his head then track through the shot keeping the focus point on his head as you fire of the shutter on a constant high setting.