My first HDR - in a village church

Name
Carl
Edit My Images
Yes
Im very pleased with these, dont mind C&C though as id love to do improvements.

The following photos are of the inside of Pulford Church, Pulford, Cheshire.

The reverend kindly allowed me to take unrestricted photographs. I was left to my own devices for 50 minutes. I took my time, no one was around, this was my greatest opportunity yet to do some practice in a VERY dark light situation. Flash was allowed, but I disabled it (Im still learning the controls of the camera and its effects on the final picture).

I performed most of the shots as HDR, brackets of 3 shots. I then used Photomatrix to HDR under a couple of presets it already has. Im blown away by the app (im on trial version) and will most likely buy it.

Things I learnt when doing this shoot:
My tripod is crap. It did only cost me £20, but its crap.
Flimsy, vibration but it was ok for doing 3 bracket shots at a time.

Lens was fine. I used the kit len, 18-55mm and had it on 18mm most of the time. F numbers ranged from 6-16 as I practiced the shots. The EXIF info should still be in the images so you can examine those if you like.

I did notice, while processing some of the images, that I bracketed too high and should have went down a step first, theres some noise in some of the pictures :(

One thing I intend to do, is run Magic Lantern when the new version is on general release as it performs a HDR on every exposure possible so images should look really amazing.

Ok. Here goes :)

IMG_7676_7_8_tonemapped.jpg

IMG_7685_6_7-3_tonemapped.jpg

IMG_7693_4_5_tonemapped_tonemapped.jpg

IMG_7699_700_701_tonemapped.jpg

IMG_7705_6_7_tonemapped.jpg

IMG_7714_5_6-3_tonemapped.jpg

seem a bit oof to me...

i am struggling with manual focussing. im using the live view too, zoom in digitally, refocus, then take the pic. Either its the tripod or my eyes ! lol :confused:

Hi

Well No 6 is the one i like best