Beginner My new hobby and the much needed camera

Edit My Images
Yes
Greetings all! And Happy New Year!!
And so a new year springs upon us all and new year resolutions come fourth. I've been a good boy all year apart from really annoying the woman of my dreams, hey men mess up sometimes!
One hobby I've always wanted to get into was photography, I'd love to be able to go on walks with friends or family or on my own and just be able to bring back memories of the places I have been.

So, to begin with.. I came across this.
http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/camera...i-telephoto-zoom-lens-22103762-pdt.html#cat-0

As you see in a minute when you open the page or see from the contents of the URL, it's a DSLR camera or 'diss-la' as I say. Yup, shoot me now, I'm a rank amateur. I don't like doing things by halves and so to begin my hobby I want to begin with equipment that can take me up the ranks of photography to a place where I'am comfortable understanding my equipment and equipment beyond that, I hear buying a lens is a good investment and a tripod etc. But before that, I want a reasonable camera with plenty of 'power' and abilities. I was looking in a store in the city today and saw that I can get a good camera for under £200 and it come with focusing(?) and aperture(?) features for making the photo great. I'm not really interested in a camera I can hold with a few fingers, I want a camera that requires effort. I want a good camera then I suppose.

Also, can anyone recommend me books I can start reading as I'm buying the camera/a camera pretty much straight away.
Any comments, suggestions would be great and perhaps tell me what the camera has in terms of features because it looks very complicated but I'm guessing it's a good one?

Thanks.

Sounds like you want all the gear but have no idea. I have to agree with the man in the shop though, focussing and apateure do make for great photos.