Need your help 70-200+TC vs 120-400 or other? (nikon mount)

Edit My Images
No
Hello everyone,

I know this is another thread concerning lens choice for motorsport photography but I can't make my mind :shake:.
Therefore I summon your expertise to help me on this one. I'm not a pro and have no credencials so I'm left behind the fence and on the stands to shoot in the Algarve Motor Park (Autodromo Internacional do Algarve) in Portugal. I've found out my 18-200VRII lacks the quality I'm looking for and is too short :nono:.

Unfortunately, I can't find a Sigma 100-300 f4 for sale (new or used) here in Portugal and my budget doesn't allow me a nikkor 200-400 f4 or a Sigma 120-300 2.8 os :LOL: so I started to search for a solution with more range and somehow more afordable.

What do you think would be the best option for my D90? A Sigma 70-200 2.8 (os or not?)+TC (which one?), a Sigma 120-400, or other (please specify)? :thinking:

Thanks(y).

Last edited:
Unfortunately, I can't find a Sigma 100-300 f4 for sale (new or used) here in Portugal

Have you thought about buying one from the UK :shrug:

I had one and thought it was a cracker of a lens (even with a Sigma APO EX 1.4x TC) & used it on a D90 & D300s... Only sold it to fund a 70-200mm VR (then onto a 70-200 VRII) havent a clue why thou as not long brought the TC-20E III to go with it :bonk:

Have you thought about buying one from the UK :shrug:

I had one and thought it was a cracker of a lens (even with a Sigma APO EX 1.4x TC) & used it on a D90 & D300s... Only sold it to fund a 70-200mm VR (then onto a 70-200 VRII) havent a clue why thou as not long brought the TC-20E III to go with it :bonk:

I have actually, but it seems as they are hard to find these days.

What do you think of the 70-200+TC? Are you pleased with it?

Thanks(y).

:wave:

I'd really like your help please :help:.

I found out some people had issues focusing with the Siggy 120-400 and a Nikon D90. Did someone here felt the same?