New Camera Advice for Aurora Photography

Name
Michelle
Edit My Images
No
Hello everyone!

I am in desperate need of help with a camera purchase for the sole purpose of shooting decent photographs of the Northern Lights during a road trip in March to Ivalo, Abisko and Tromso.

To give a bit of extra info...

I went on a last minute birthday trip to Iceland in November (last month) and borrowed my Dad's Sony Alpha 100 with the following lens:

- Minolta AF lens 35-105mm 1:3.5 (22) - 4.5

I was/am a complete beginner and a research session revealed that I needed a much wider angle lens etc. However, I actually managed to get some pictures of the lights with the kit during the trip. I shot with manual settings on infinity setting in RAW with a combination of ISO 400 - 600 (to reduce noise) and between 10 - 30seconds. I had a release cable and a sturdy tripod to help with the harsh Icelandic winds.

The lights appeared mainly as white wisps in the sky - it was a full moon during my visit and the colour only appeared in the photographs.

After this somewhat successful experience, it is safe to say that I have the bug and want to buy some kit of my own to use in March. To increase my chances, I am going for at least a week and during a new moon. Ideally, I do not want to spend more than 300 for a second-hand camera and lens. I realise it could be worthwhile to invest a hefty sum into a kit then sell afterwards to recoup costs, but I would prefer to stick to buying a camera/lens within my budget to keep hold of :)

However, after a few weeks of solid research, I am overwhelmed (doesn't take much tbh!) with all the options and camera/lens combinations available. For example, full sensor or cropped, opting for a low budget camera with a very hefty priced lens e.g Sigma/Samyang, DSLR or Mirrorless etc..

What I am sure of is I am not fussed about the camera having Wifi/Bluetooth capabilities.

Any help/suggestions/advice is much appreciated!