New Tamron 18-200 lens

Name
Rich
Edit My Images
Yes
Anyone got one of these with the image stabilisation? Any good?

I know its only about a month old but I'd have thought there would be a review of it somewhere on the net but can't find anything. Only ones I can find are for the older version which doesn't have IS. Anyone know where I can find one?

Cheers
Rich

Hi Macs,

New here and only had a DSLR for a few months - so total beginner. Bought one of these the other day for a Nikon D3200 and have fired off a few test point and shoot pictures whilst visiting my father today. Not had chance to use it to be honest, but saw your post a few days back and just took the below for you if it helps?

All taken in very overcast conditions and taken straight from the camera and uploaded to the links below. There's also a review in the bottom link.

Cheers

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=36479307696949365828

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=59827308268911473328

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=08855674461398525459

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=02837111984329718490

http://dustinabbott.net/2014/10/tamron-18-200mm-vc-review/

I don't suppose anyone actually ended up buying this lens?

Me. I bought one to use on a D300. I must say, I am pretty impressed with it. It is very light and feels a bit cheaply made, but it is only £169. After using mine on his D7100, my Dad also bought one but sent it back because it wasn't sharp.
I think Tamrons usual QC issues are still around!
If you can get a good used Nikon 18-200vr, I would go for that though, but if you get a good copy of the Tamron, you will like it.

Thanks for that Allan. I'm still swaying between an 18-200 and a 17-50 which is more limited but should be sharper all round (and would be f2.8 of course).

Decisions decisions!

Last edited: