New to lighting

Edit My Images
No
Hiya guys/girls

Im new to portrait photography and am very keen to give it a go! My only problem is i dont own any lighing equipment i got a

350d
kit lens
50mm 1.8

I would personaly light to build a studio in my garage but due to no power there i am unable to do this. :(

I was thinking of buying a speedlite or 2 for my camera and a brolly would this get me simulare results to a home studio?

If so what speedlites would you recomend or what would you recomend me buying instead?

I have around £350 to spend on all of this equipment.

Also when im at it can any one tell me how the photgrapher achived these results?
*some may consider NSFW*

http://www.net-model.com/UserImages/92008/92320081348-50902b.JPG

Many thanks danny

Best advice I could give you is to spend the next few weeks and months devouring Strobist. You'll learn how to light and how to read lighting in photos so you can see what others have done, like in the photos you posted. You'll learn so much more than you would if I just told you how they lit the above photos.

ok thanks for the advice when you say stobist you mean his blog? i was reading that the other day and found it interesting.

I was wondering would you say the speedlite option was my best bet or i there another option of lighting without a power source?

ok thanks for the advice when you say stobist you mean his blog? i was reading that the other day and found it interesting.

Yes - read lighting 101 and 102 and you'll have more information than you'll know what to do with for ages.

I was wondering would you say the speedlite option was my best bet or i there another option of lighting without a power source?