Name
Rob
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi Guys,

Just wondering if i can ask some advise,

i thought i had secured a new nikon d40 for cheap cheap but it didnt work out,

i am not faced with paying £279 for a new nikon or 379 for a D60

Is the extra £100 worth the extra mega pixels and the VR lens and the other internal gubbins,

i am just starting out and maybe will buy a 55-200mm lens for extra zoom later in the year but at the mo i am just looking for a decent camera to take abroad with me in a week or so,

i just dont want a camera thats going to be out of date by a long shot in 12 months,

hence me leaning more to the Nikon D60 but im unsure??? help!!!!!

Hi Bobjim and welcome

They are both good cameras but the D60 is obviously the newer so a bit more future proof (although things change that quickly its not by much more). Have you thought about other makes? I think the Sony A200 with 18-70mm lens is £260 at Argos. I also believe that Canon make cameras although I don't know if they are any good. ;)

Andy

The D40 is a excellent camera that is basically the D60 with less features. To be honest I cannot see any DSLR camera going out of date so long as you have shutter, aperture and ISO control. They only add extra features like live view or in camera editing and so on. The next milestone that will put the current DSLR's out of date is going full-frame, which has already started but is far too expensive right now and probably will not be within our price range for some years. Unless you will be doing A3 prints I would save yourself some money and buy a D40.

I'm selling my D40 kit if you are still on the lookout?

shameless plugs ruining my beautiful thread, lol

have looked at cannon and sony but the nikon just clicked i seem to get on better with the menus etc etc
the argos d40 is out of stock in all branches and i dont think there are having any more in,

pm's sent to voodoochild and ted

Unless you will be doing A3 prints I would save yourself some money and buy a D40.