Nikon FE2 Light Meter/Shutter Problems :(

Name
Jack
Edit My Images
No
Hello,
I am quite new to using film cameras and I recently bough a Nikon FE2 (along with a 50mm F1.8 MF Nikon lens) in very good condition from a local car boot sale which I was very pleased with. I managed to run one film through by using 'A' (aperture priority?) mode and I was very surprised with the quality of the photos. I then put another film through but after about 3 shots the mirror remained locked up after pressing the shutter and the light meter also refuses to work :thumbsdown:. I have tried changing the batteries for new ones, and cleaning the battery compartment but it still does not work (apart from if placed in the M250 or B setting)

If any one has any suggestions to what could be the problem or how to fix it by opening it up :shrug: (a link to a disassembly tutorial would be great!) please reply as I would love to use this great camera again :D

Thank you
Jack :)

Last edited:
I'm going to guess it's "sticky mirror" syndrome, something very common to older cameras, especially if they haven't been used for sometime. Are you 100% sure the batteries are fresh and new? The Nikon FG I have absolutely will not play nice unless the batteries are good. And, I have to ask it, I'm sorry, but did you put the batteries in the right way round?

I'd agree with Freecom with regards to batteries. It can occasionally happen where you purchase a new battery and it turns out to only produce half the power required, which may be enough to stop your camera from working correctly.

The 'M250' and 'B' settings are mechanically operated, so if your camera works OK at these settings, this would indicate a problem with the electronic side of it. However, I would double-check your batteries first before taking any further action.

I don't have an FE2 but have a couple of FEs and an FA and this has happened occasionally but only ever as a one off (ie stuck occasionally but then worked fine afterwards).