Nikon Remote Controls - How Much?

Name
Chris
Edit My Images
Yes
Only just realised that my new D300 does not have an old fashioned screw in connector on the shutter like my Fuji S3.

So had a look at the cost of cords and the ML-3 infra red remote control! That has to be the biggest rip off I have ever seen!

So question is this:

Does anyone know where you can get the plugs for the 10 pin remote control socket? If you do, maybe you have access to the wiring diagram?

Bit of a long shot but if anyone has this information I could make a remote control with a key fob for about £60 or so! Oh and for what it is worth it could work up to 100M not 8M!

Regards

Chris

So you spent a grand on a camera body but are prepared to bodge a remote? :wacky:

Oh that's quite rude and uncalled for don't you think?

For what it is worth I am an electronics engineer.

My question is based on finding a solution that others can follow. For me, to build this would be simple as long as I had the data.

Perhaps you personally cannot see the benefit of helping others with your skills. But me, well guess I am different from you!

Regards

Chris

Hi Simon,

Thanks for that, just what I was looking for!

Regards

Chris

Take a look on Ebay - lots of far more reasonably priced alternatives. I have a couple of those (one wired, one wireless) and they work perfectly.

Hi Moadib,

Sounds like my efforts may not be worth it then?

Any chance of putting a link for a wireless one so I can get an idea?

Regards

Chris

No probs! Im quite broad-minded.... Im happy to help you Nikon-users to take good photos like us Canon-peeps!!! ;) :D

No probs! Im quite broad-minded.... Im happy to help you Nikon-users to take good photos like us Canon-peeps!!! ;) :D

Hi Janice,

You is the (wo)man! :LOL:

But I am a Fuji S3 and Nikon D300 chap now. But still a novice!

Trying to get it right and feeling very sorry for myself today!

I was booked on a photography day course at Westonbirt Arboretum and had to cancel.