NikonNX-i advice

Edit My Images
Yes
I've downloaded this software (along with the add on package for converting files) as I want to start tinkering around with editing RAW files. Ok, I know I'm a complete novice to photography and should concentrate on taking photos for now (which I will be doing). However, I've always been an 'in at the deep end' type of person and reckon it wont hurt to footer around with this on the side whilst I get to grips with my camera. I do like the programmed settings but I want to get the most out of my camera so shooting RAW files and learning to use the camera manually seems to make sense to me.

That said I have a couple of wee questions to ask and would appreciate any advice I can get.

1) Will this software be able to do isolate the colour on a subject whilst leaving the surroundings black and white?
2) I have an idea for a project when I get a bit more proficient and wondered if I would be able to 'black out' subjects (as if cutting them out and leaving a silhouette) ?
3) If the software wont be capable of doing this would it make more sense to download software that would, even if it will be a bit trickier to get to grips with?

I don't really see the point in learning an 'easier' program if I'll be ditching it further down the line. Does that make sense?

Again, thanks in advance for any advice and tips.