Nikon's first half financial results

Name
Stewart
Edit My Images
Yes
Makes for interesting reading. To summarise, it seems they're doing okay(ish) in the imaging side of the business (cameras and lenses) but suffering heavily in semi conductors and medical markets. On the imaging side of things, profit is slightly up but revenue slightly down and falling. Things aren't a disaster on that side yet but signs not good. Overall camera market is not shrinking but they're losing sales to mirrorless competition while their higher end stuff does okay. I have little or no knowledge of the other side of their business but the camera side of things doesn't surprise me in the slightest.

My own feelings are that for the last few years, Nikon have churned out fantastic professional grade cameras and lenses and really only had to compete seriously with Canon in that sector, business as usaul. At the more consumer end of the market, things are far more competitive and Nikon's offerings are looking very formulaic next to some very exciting mirrorless stuff coming from Sony/Fuji/Pansonic/Olympus and Canon seem to be starting to muscle their way into that market at long last too. Nikon seem nowhere at the moment with that market and I would imagine they need to act pretty fast. And to add to the concern, Sony in particular seem to be really starting to set the high end market in their sights and are producing some enticing stuff. Could be a difficult future.

Would be interestng to know how Canon have been fairing. I would assume they're facing a similar set of challenges but are coming from a better market share position to start with.

Last edited:
Mirrorless is the future. Canikon both should have dropped at least APC comparable systems but they afraid of losing DSLR sales