Beginner Not an absolute beginner!

Name
Mike
Edit My Images
No
I used to shoot 35mm with a variety of lenses up to 300mm. I have also had a Fuji Finepix 5500 (mainly sat in a cupboard) but the battery flap clips are broken (strong rubber band wrapped around at present) so am looking at DSLR or mirrorless. I don't want to spend a fortune as SWMBO says it may just be "another retirement fad"! All advice gratefully received. I am almost 70 but have some techy knowledge. Mike.

Living in rural Norfolk, it will mostly be used for landscapes and occasionally wildlife. I intend to do more walking as an aid to fitness and my photography used to get me out more!

It's unfortunate but asking enthusiasts for advice on choosing a camera is fraught. Normally, I'd suggest going to a real shop and spending plenty of time looking at and handling the cameras which spark your interest.

In the current situation I'd suggest buying second hand from a reliable dealer who will let you return the camera if it turns out not to be quite what you want. London Camera Exchange and MBP are 2 companies I've dealt with several times and they have always been reliable in my experience.

As to what to consider: perhaps look at Micro Four Thirds from Panasonic or Olympus. The quality is more than adequate for anyone used to 35mm film, they're light and compact and it would be possible to get a basic outfit for under £200 second hand.

Living in rural Norfolk, it will mostly be used for landscapes and occasionally wildlife. I intend to do more walking as an aid to fitness and my photography used to get me out more!

If wildlife on a budget then a crop sensor will be helpful, aps-c, micro 4/3rds or even as I have done, Nikon 1 mirrorless with its 2.7 crop ... much smaller and significantly lighter for this 70+ gent :)