Novice who'd like some help :)

Edit My Images
Yes
Hey all,

Whilst I've been an avid iPhone photographer for as long as I've had one, I recently bought a new DSLR. A Canon 1300d.

It came with two lenses and I'm happy with some of the results I'm getting.

Now, I'm not one to run before I can walk but I've been looking at the settings and I've seen I can use some external flashes. I assume these are ones that attach to the foot on the top of the camera?

What I'd like to know is, if I wanted to use more than one, say for portrait photography do I just connect one to my camera and then use two/three more in slave mode?

I've been looking at the Neewer E-TTL Speedlite Flash on Amazon and thought, maybe buying one to test and then if I get on with them a couple more.

As I say I'm new to all this and still learning the settings of the camera and what settings would be best used for indoor portrait. I do find the preset settings on the top are really good and I love learning new things about the camera along with lenses etc.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!

B

You've not stated which model, but most flashes will work in optical slave mode (which is what you're suggesting).
However, you're better off using a wireless trigger.
I don't know the Neewer range as I use Yongnuo on my canon, but this seems to be the
http://neewer.com/product/neewer-nw...slr-camerasincludes1nw680-tt680-flash1univer/
kit which includes a trigger.

I'm sure someone will come along with better answers than me and possible a suggestion to ask in the lighting and studio section.

The cheapest option is a couple of Manual flashguns, which you can trigger using your onboard flash in S2 mode...

But that’s riddled with some technical challenges:
Your onboard flash is ETTL only and fooling your camera into giving you control isn’t simple
Nor is it simple to stop the onboard flash spoiling your carefully designed lighting pattern