Off camera flash misfiring issue

Name
Derek
Edit My Images
No
Trying more home portraits (thanks Covid) and have been messing around with off camera flash.

Using D610 with Godox XPro trigger and V860ii flash. I was getting a lot of shots with no flash which seems fairly random (would miss one in four then be fine for six then miss four kinda thing) so i read up a bit and tweaked a few settings (channel number, distance, checked batteries) which seemed to improve things a bit but still wasn't great.

I then started using two lights (V860ii and AD200) and I have found that the AD200 doesn't miss nearly as much (one in twenty) but the V860ii has gone back to how it was before. I have tried them in the same and different groups but no change in number of misfires.

Any ideas what I could try to get better consistency with this kit? I'm fairly new to this setup so I may be missing something fairly basic and/or obvious.

Yes I read that in a few places so got everything fully charged up (including camera) and put fresh alkalines in the trigger

Will the v860ii run in s1 mode. If so then use the more reliable triggered ocf to control it- at least then its all or nothing

If you’re looking to control power and zoom remotely then thats a bigger issue but if not it takes one receiver out if the loop

Thanks Jim, will give that a go.

They both flashed more consistently when pressing the test button on the trigger which initially had me thinking it was a hot shoe problem but the AD200 seems to work fine when triggered via the shutter release button

Is it something simple like not giving the V860 enough time to recharge between shots? The AD200 has more power so can sustain more shots taken in quick succession. I guess you’ve ruled this out?

Some reasons spring to mind (assuming nothing is faulty)