Old Camera Help

Name
Harry
Edit My Images
Yes
I have just inherited an old camera - a Zeiss-Ikon Nettar IIB (518/16). Although I have very little knowledge of photography, the only snaps I ever take are on my phone :thumbsdown: , I find myself rather fascinated by my new aquisition.

Can anyone help me as to what sort of film I might need and where I could get it from. From what I can work out I need 120 roll film with 6cmX6cm negatives?

As I said, with very little knowledge of photography, this is all double dutch to me.

Any corrections/help in my quest would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Harry

Hi Harry, welcome aboard.

Heres a little background on the camera
http://www.marriottworld.com/pieces/pieces23.htm

Its a cracking bit of kit and if its in good condition will produce stunning (and I mean really stunning) images. 6x6 negatives contain an amazing amount of detail and 120 film is still easily available from places like Silverprint, AG Photographic, 7 Day shop etc and can be developed at places such as Peak Imaging or Club 35 to name but 2.
120 film can be used to take any number of negatives as it isn't split into individual negs like 35mm. Hope this helps and I'm sure someone will be along with more knowledge than I before long.

Cheers

Andy

For just a one-off film to have a play with, see what you can pick-up locally - your local independent camera shop id your best bet, your local Jessops may carry one or two rolls of 120. Make sure it's a C41 process colour negative film so that you can get it developed by Jessops or your local camera shop.

You just need to ask for "120 film".. the 6x6 just refers to the size of image the camera will put onto it.

You're most likely to find Fuji Pro 160S or Pro 400H, others to look for are Kodak Ektar 100 or any of the Portra films.