Paganism "Wheel of the Year" Project

Name
Adam
Edit My Images
Yes
So I recently started learning about Paganism, and decided to start a project based on the Wheel of the Year, to further my understanding. The Pagan year consists of 8 seasonal celebrations. Four of these are the equinoxes and solstices, and the remaining four are positioned between each of these. With each I add a small description of how I interpret them.

Here are the first four!

Imbolc - 2nd February

Imbolc is celebrated around the start of February, and though still cold, new life is starting to show in the form of snowdrops and other early blooming flowers. Winter is not finished, but the worst has passed and early signs of Spring are appearing.

Imbolc by Adam Browning, on Flickr

Spring Equinox - 20th March

Spring equinox or Ostara is a celebration of new and returning life. Eggs and hares symbolise this time, eggs as a symbol of new life, and hares for their ability to conceive a second litter before delivering the first.

Ostara by Adam Browning, on Flickr

Beltane - 1st May

Beltane is a celebration of fertility and purity. The world has come to life, creatures are mating and raising young, flowers are in bloom. Fire is an important part of the festival, a cleansing force to promote fertility for the coming year. Traditionally cattle were driven between the flames to remove ticks and fleas, and ensure the fertility and health of the herd. People also leap over the flames, to cleanse, revitalise, and promote fertility of mind, body and spirit.

Beltane by Adam Browning, on Flickr

Summer Solstice - 21st June