Paint Shop Pro 8 or Adobe Photoshop

Edit My Images
Yes
I've been offered a second hand Paint Shop Pro 8 software package (not a copy) to use for photo editing. However I notice a lot of you use Adobe Photoshop. As i am just getting into this side of things your advice on the best or preffered photo editing software would be very valuable and I will be using the software mainly for portraits/people shots.
Thanks in advance.

Photoshop is probably more popular, but I know fans of PaintShop Pro too - however, PS is expensive so a cheap version of PSP has to be attractive

It'll do what you're after as well as anything I'm sure - just bear in mind that if you need advice and ask hereabouts, as most seem to be PS users, you may not get as much help

I use to run both and found psp a very useful tool If I were you get it and play around with it and see if you like it
Bob

Im photoshop all the way but its what you get used to I have tried Paintshop pro and as people have said it will do whatever you want but if your used to using photoshop its a learning curve to the try using paintshop as hardly anything is similar to use. Elements might be the way to go as its a user friendly watered down version of Photoshop

Ignoring cost, Photoshop really is the best photo processing application but you do need to learn a fair bit to be able to use it. There are tutorials on the internet and books available that help.

I avidly used PSP "photo" XI. until I got a ( legit) "free" elements 5 disc then I found myself using Elements more and more, I hardly use PSP anymore. In fact the last time I tried to use it it crashed ( sulking perhaps? :D) I then got CS3 under "student rates" and although it does far more than I will ever need I find I am now using that more and more in favour of E5
( no way on earth would I have paid the full CS3 ( or 2 for that matter) price))